Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

revive

October 09, 2003
uh-oh

Do you know what I did to feel better? Yep, I called Joe.

After classes he drove me home, walked me inside, and gave me a little tenderness.

We both have other plans for tonight, and we both have early plans for the morning, but he asked me to call him later.

I have to admit that it is nice to be having a bad day where a tight hug and soft kisses would just change it all, and actually have Joe to call. It's also nice to not be going to a school where everyone would be talking the hell out of this.

At Lee we would have been seen on campus, in the bars, driving down the mutherfuckin road, and his car at my apartment and *everyone* would be making their assholes -- I mean, opinions - known. This is why casual dating was impossible there.

Then in NY it was impossible because of the sheer volume of people and the distance I lived from the city.

It's not like this is a secret; I just don't know any body. The people I do know have heard varying degrees of the story, but they have no idea who he is.

I don't really have any idea who he is, either.

But he's been a brush of sweetness this last week.

In other news, NetFlix is the shit. Everyone should use it because it's the perfection.

Just remember: if there's a song you've heard that really ministers to you, then it was probably written by Leonard Cohen.

In closing, I would like to settle anyone's confusion about my favorite tree. Now, as a child I had always been partial to the pecan tree (very, very much like walnut trees in the north). There is still something about a pecan grove that thrills my happy senses. Sometimes the great Live Oaks of the deep south trigger some biological memory of my ancestors.

But my tree is the Ginkgo biloba from China.

It is the most vibrant, and stalwart, yet graceful tree I've ever encountered. Soft and patient.

7:27 p.m. ::
prev :: next