Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

drawing elephants is easier than drawing comparrisons

June 27, 2003
...last night, after I wrote the below entry... at around one in the a.m. - Amrin Michael Anastasi called me.

Drunk and tired and newly single.

Figures.

He fell asleep on the phone with me; just like old times!

We hadn't talked for a couple of months or so, and haven't seen each other in over a year, but we will soon.

He's a surfer from the LBC who wears hats (cocked to the side) to match his shoes. His labels are Volcom, Billabong, DC and Hurley. He "pops" when he dances and can freestyle and beatbox. He speaks primarily in slang and code-talk. He tags his "street name" of Jenk on everything. He attracts honey's like a magnet... He's not a reader. He plays guitar (punk/hip-hop/reggae(311?)). He has a short attention span.

We have nothing in common, really. Except for salt and vinegar potato chips and we both like his mom.

But we can't keep a greater distance from each other than about six inches.

I loved him because he woke me up at 3 in the morning to ride in his truck watching the first snow-fall in the headlights.

I loved him because he never let me leave. Still won't.

I loved him because we could pop in Hello Nasty and dance (sober, daylight) until we were sweaty.

I stopped loving him because he lied about being my friend. To his girlfriend (fiance). To everyone. I was his secret. Because he wanted to make me the "other woman". Because I was supposed to lie about our friendship, too.

Now, a year of not seeing him, a year of him apologizing and insisting that we'll be friends for ever, a year of him calling, a year of me being alone, a year of me going out with lost-causes, a year of not having danced with anyone... gives me anxiety about what the reunion will be like in a few weeks.

He suggested buying himself a one-way ticket to NY so he can make the roadtrip back to GA with me. So we can arrive at Todd and Emily's wedding together.

(That's only fitting since he and I were there across the room when they first kissed, heh... funny night)

A 20-hour road-trip would be "catching up", alright.

He probably won't do that, though.

12:58 p.m. ::
prev :: next