Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

...be careful what you ask for

September 14, 2003
He has been in pain, and I'm glad for that. The only excuse acceptable had to involve paralyzing pain. But knee surgery? I would have prefered a frontal lobatomy.

I'm talking about Kasey, because Joy called.

We've emailed since her wedding but hadn't talked on the phone. In email I'd managed to avoid mentioning her groomsman, but she asked pointedly what my contact had been with her husband's best friend since she saw us in NY nearly two months ago.

So I told her I'd heard nothing.

Then she told me Faith had said we were dating.

So I filled her in a little. Yes, she is my best friend, but she is in her first few months of marriage so I hadn't really been informing her on my personal life much. Until she asked.

When I let her know I had feelings of being slighted by the man her response was,

"So... you don't know about the surgery?"

Apparently he's been incognizant due to all the medication after his major knee surgery which became necessarry sometime around the point where I was expecting him to call. She said her husband had found him to be coherent only in the last couple of days. Kasey's been out of work she told me, and will need months of physical therapy.

After getting my mind to a point of stasis on the subject it's unnerving to now have reason to start thinking about him again. To start wondering if I'm going to hear from him.

She's going to ask her husband what he knows on the subject and get back to me.

swell

I had just finished five hours of homework when she called, and was on my way to a coffee shop to compare my answers with my classmates'. Maggie got the blunt of my angst as I walked.

After I finished in the coffee shop dad called me to tell me he's getting married.

I wish somebody was here with me right now.

The crying feels good but it's hard alone.

10:12 p.m. ::
prev :: next