Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

murky weather

September 22, 2003
My home is rearranged now, and that made me feel a little more whole here. There were a few out-of-place things in my tiny environment and now I've fit them all in so that each one has a home. It might have contributed to my general sense of productivity I felt today. Like, my philosophy homework each week is to write a critical response to our reading, and to post it via email to the entire class; despite my general sense of only possessing layman's abilities for such discussions, what I wrote earlier today has garnered a couple of comments, so I suppose my thoughts are at least thinking about.

The seminar today was interesting, but the auditorium was so full of people gunning to hear the distinguished alumn that the place really reeked of body smells. Not so much the not-showered kind, just the campus-walking, pressed-together kind. I'm not usually so sensitive, but when five o'clock rolled around I was really happy to have to slip out.

you've been hooked, you've been crooked so many times that you're suspicious... and when the right thing comes along you don't believe it... when opportunity knocks at the front door you're at the back door looking for four-leaf-clovers

I mailed the compilation for Spears today, as well as 600 Camel-cash I'd saved up. He doesn't know about the latter, so I'm hoping he's duly surprised. Maybe he can buy a pool table or something.

While I was in the post office I ran into Kareem, which was awkward. Not because I'd canceled on him, but because we were rescheduled for a couple hours later. I mean, I don't *know* him, he just wants to get together with me, so all I could say was "hi" and "see you in a bit".

As I walked out of the union building towards the library I pulled out my phone and contemplated dialing... then it rang, and it was Mikaela.

Everything in her journal is true.

She said she feels healthier.

Which reminded me of the great conversation with Tylere some time ago in which we postulated that "intercession is the inverse of depression". Bold thought for us, but it does tend to be true that when someone else's pain is so much more tangible than your own that you become less concerned with what banal gripes you were heralding the day before.

Dr. Rahamut's death put my recent break-up in clear perspective.

I'm seriously sketched out by Mikaela's weekend, though. Anything like anything can happen anytime anywhere.

Her friend was stabbed by some juvenile thugs while she walked with him away from a nice theater. Unimaginable thing to witness...

So after the seminar I went to the hippie coffee shop to meet Kareem. He began the conversation with handing me a script he had written for a play, and included is a "soundtrack" of original music. It was soon aparent that his intentions were not surrounding his writing, but only that it was a way to talk to me.

Flattering, obviously.

He's actually a very very handsome guy. I kept having to keep diverting my eyes from his chest. I'm a boob girl -- er -- peck girl. Whatever. His button-down shirt was just so that when ever he leaned forward I could see his pretty little chest hairs. Fortunately he had black-lashed chocolate eyes for me to look at with less incrimination.

As far as his personality goes I suppose he's exotic to me. He is Austrian-born, London-raised, by an Egyptian father and Austrian mother (hence the name Kareem). He looks fully caucasian, however. His accent is cute with a tinge of glottal-constriction on his /r/s. But wait, his personality... he's not cocky or pretentious-acting, but he's brief in expressing himself, so I can't really tell to well. I'll let you know after I read/listen to what he gave me.

He's going to call me soon.

It should be a nice diversion to have a hott, exotic, young physicist to get to know.

[I'm rolling my eyes at myself]

In a way I like meeting a guy and not feeling a cosmic-connection. The last few "I've known you all my life, and we just met" fellas were quick to fade.

After Kareem left I turned the corner and saw Alex - who I met my first night here in town at the show Jon took me to, and then we chatted more at Jon's party on Saturday night - so I shot the bull with him for a while.

It was one of those nice moments where I actually felt like maybe I know people in this town.

Donnie Darko put me to bed last night, and I'm thinking I might watch it again tonight - with the deleted scenes - and drink wine while I read over some stuff... But I ought to read Kareem's play.

I ought to be gunning to read it.

Or at least to listen to his music.

Whatever and whatever.

I'm hungry, but I don't feel like cooking.

pizza?

9:31 p.m. ::
prev :: next