Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

It Creeps

December 05, 2003
I cut no edges and neither do I spend my life upon edges which cut. This is not to exclude, however, last night's incident with my cutting of my lower lip on a shattered PBR bottle that I had knocked to the floor during a rousing karaoke rendition of Livin on a Prayer.

I am refering more to the speed with which I procure knowledge of my popular culture.

Indeed you know that in the fashion of the season I am listening to Loveless end-over-end lately. So I Googled "Kevin Shields" to see where his name had occurred recently in the news.

To my shame I see him linked with Sophia Copolla in the recent Lost in Translation soundtrack. A movie I saw.

A movie who's soundtrack I had touted for using Sometimes from Loveless. So at least I picked up on his craftwork to some degree.

Perhaps Tylere mentioned to me that Kevin Shields wrote the soundtrack, but if he did it came in a stream of facts which can only flow from him before seeing a movie and those of us who know him have learned we are not expected to respond and so therefore have left off even really paying any attention.

Another discovery which would have made me sound cool if I'd made it months ago.

Good thing there is not a goddam person alive who's even watching right now.

11:53 p.m. ::
prev :: next