Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

the breaks

July 02, 2003

My MSN messenger signs itself on just any ole time. I'll be in bed for an hour and suddenly it just decides to trick my friends. Bitch.

Yesterday I bought four CDs that are all making me eXXXceptionally happy.

#1 Built to Spill Keep It Like A Secret: I know what you're all thinking, "I can't believe she didn't already own that??!?!" Despite having dowloads of *most* of the tracks, I only owned There's Nothing Wrong With Love and The Normal Years. So imagine my excitement to finally purchase my very own copy.

#2 Rooney: ...no I don't buy *everything* I hear Matthew listening to, but he compared them to Weezer, I think, so I dropped eight bucks on it. Matthew listens to Avril.

#3 The Sounds Living in America: Scan and Hapi recommended I listen to them (where are you guys?) and they made it into my "Best Summer Albums of 2003" list. (Chick singer, Norwiegen or some shit, retro 80's pop rock fun fun fun).

#4 The Black Keys The Big Come Up: this was the kicker. This album is the sweetest hunk of music love I have bitten a piece off of in a long time. This album is what *I* would sound like. I don't mean if I were a musician, but if I were a guitar.

String me up. Put frets down my spine. Hollow out my stomach.

follow me through

the city of frost covered angels

These four albums combined with SweeTarts and Vanilla Coke were the right combination for me finding the perfect shoes for my bridesmaid dress. I didn't have to go to one department store. They're not Unlisted. Those were my two lows to which I would not stoop in my search, and I was succesful!

I swear I have nothing to prove

I just wanna dance in your tangles

to give me some reason to move

So I've got four weeks before I move, right, and Mark tells me yesterday that he wants to "get to know me" before I go. He asked if I would ever move back to New York, and I told him probably not...

...because there are too many goddam New Yorkers here.

Mark is cute, though, and tall and has never worn the same ensemble any two times I've seen him at the record store. His fashion really is so hip it makes up for his crooked teeth. I gave him my cell phone number and told him we could get together sometime.

Oh, and he got me a ticket to see the White Stripes on the 22nd. With him, I mean.

Rocknroll.

m/

but to take on the world at all angles

requires a strength I can't use

so I'll meet you up high in your anger

of all that is hoping and waiting for you

Mark keeps trying to get me to listen to the Ravonettes, but they don't really stand out to me.

Last night I bought a Dell laptop for myself. So I'm going AOL again.

Indiana University assigned me a mentor. This 26-year-old girl named Arwen who's a PhD student in Linguistics. She really likes Harry Potter. She's supposed to show me the ropes. I wish they'd assign me a boyfriend.

No I don't.

I have to go pack now.

10:01 a.m. ::
prev :: next