Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

101 Facts About Me

March 07, 2003
01. No one in my family calls me "Michaela" (they call me Katrina, Katie, Kate, Kat, and for no obvious reason).

02. I broke my arm before I could walk

03. The first book I read was "Charlotte's Web"

04. I hated public school, beginning in the second grade, so every year I tried a different school

05. And every year I asked my mom to teach me at home

06. My mother is brilliant and my closest mentor

07. During highschool I would run into someone I knew everywhere I went: homeschool didn't stop me from knowing tons of people

08. I went to a prom my Junior year

09. I always squeeze my toothpaste from the bottom

10. I've seen my parents married and divorced twice

11. My mother was never married to my biological father

12. I'm a middle child of four (one older sister and two younger brothers), all my siblings have the same father

13. They'll all kick your ass if you call me their "half-sister"

14. I hate my nose because it's too small

15. When I was 12 I left home to live with a family who had a dairy farm; they were Mennonites and I was fed-up with suburbia and trying to find honest-living, and God

16. When I re-entered society I started listening to punk-rock and going to shows week after week

17. The dairy farm is where I started to cook; I now cook every night for the family I work for

18. When I get out of the shower I then enjoy "naked time" for about half an hour

19. I picked out my college when I was 12

20. I pick out all the rye bagel-chips from snack mix and eat them last

21. Twizzlers, Peppermint Patties, Skittles, Dr. Pepper, Yoo-hoo, and salt-and-vinegar potato chips are my junk-food weaknesses

22. I lived with my freshman roommate for all four years

23. The two of us lived with other girls, though, and total I ended up having lived with 17 different girls in college.

24. I started out as a journalism major, then switched to English Education my sophomore year, and then to just plain English.

25. I served as the historian for the local chapter of the International English Honors Society, Sigma Tau Delta, or "STD". Our motto was "fuck you: I'm an STD"

26. I studied in England for a semester

27. I got a tattoo on my back of a celtic knot while in Scottland.

28. The best moments of my life include: seeing Charles Dickens' signature scratched with a nail into a pane of glass in a window at Shakespeare's Birth Place;

29. seeing a manuscript of Shakespeare's with words written from his hand, and some of the lines were scratched out, meaning that even he changed his mind and edited himself;

30. sitting amongst scholars of the C. S. Lewis Society at Oxford University while we had discussions over pints of Guinness at the same pub where Lewis and Tolkein used to discuss their Narnia and Hobbit books;

31. Seeing the sun set on the Arno in Florence while a musician played violin in the piazza surrounded by Michaelangelo's sculptures.

32. After I finished my last day of college I went home and cried.

33. I worked construction for three months.

34. I went back to school for two semesters and finished a second bachelors in journalism

35. Selling shoes in a department store made me feel like an ineffective person

36. I had one "real" boyfriend for two years and he changed me to only a shadow of myself, so I left him

37. I'm growing my hair out right now ONLY so I can have long-hair in my wedding pictures (whenever that will be)

38. After leaving my ex-boyfriend I thought that was the worst pain, but then my friend/mother-figure/professor was murdered in her home and that's where I learned all I know about loss, and love, and pain, and righteousness

39. I taught a portion of Freshman Compostition for four semesters as an undergraduate

40. I own a House of Pain cd because I like to sing, "put on your shit-kickers and kick some shit" when I'm lacing up my 20-hole Doc Martens.

41. I can think of a song for any situation.

42. I have an encyclopedaeic knowledge of song lyrics.

43. I love any live music that is performed with conviction.

44. I love watching anyone do what they love to do.

45. Half of what I know came from watcing.

46. I take notes on everything, and in books I read.

47. I still hand-write letters to people.

48. I started smoking three and a half years ago to piss off my ex boyfriend and man did I show him! Three and a half years later (quickly becoming four) and I haven't seen him but I'm still smoking... Camel Lights

49. I started drinking when I was 20 - while in England

50. I love beer and my favorites are: Guinness, Newcastle, Bass, Stella Artois, and the Beast, but I'm not picky

51. I love liquor and my favorites are: tequila, Jack Daniels, Southern Comfort, Jager Meister, and khalua.

52. I love wine and my favorites are: merlot, shiraz, chianti, pinot grigio, and savignon blanc at summer-time bon-fires

53. I don't do any drugs

54. I never try to guess an outcome (Christmas gifts, movie/book endings, people's responses, etc.)

55. I hate rollercoasters because

56. The feeling of falling makes me think I'm going to die

57. I am terrified of knives (unless it's in my hand)

58. If I'm doing something funny for the benefit of my friends and a bunch of strangers start staring, I don't give a shit, as long as my friends laugh

59. If I'm minding my own business and a bunch of strangers start staring, I want to break their noses

60. The only Radiohead CD I own is Pablo Honey

61. My little brother is amazing on the guitar and can play anything he damn well pleases, but he didn't hear it from dad first: he heard it from me (Jimi Hendrix's "Voodoo Chile Slight Return" to be specific)

62. The blues is my no. 1 favorite type of music: it's my coping mechanism.

63. Bluegrass is like listening to the secrets of someone I love very much, or the memory of a feeling of perfect joy.

64. I don't listen to the blues or bluegrass very often because it hurts too good.

65. I love meeting people for the first time

66. The process is always more fun than the destination

67. I love to crochet lace

68. I have no sweet tooth

69. My thighs don't touch, even when I stand heel-to-heel

70. My middle name is Arabic, and is a boy's name, but my mother was a Sufi when she got pregnant with me, and her leader had many wives, one of whom was a 19-year-old girl named Jamil (instead of the feminine "Jamila");

71. Michaela Jamil Eunice was my name until I was two

72. Then my siblings' father adopted me and I got the last name Rose

73. It's pure coincidence that his name is Michael and mine is Michaela, but it looks like I was named after him

74. I love Georgia and Florida: the bigger the sky gets the wider my heart expands.

75. People either tell me I sing very well, or very badly, but never in between

76. I sing all the time

77. Many guys have found me to be a suitable best friend

78. Many girls have found me to be a threatening presence, or intimidating.

79. I don't read the newspaper or watch the news

80. I read books constantly and three-at-a-time (heavy, light, and academic)

81. I love my mother and quote her all the time

82. I would die for my siblings

83. I'm a gemini through and through

84. When one of my ears are kissed the corresponding-side knee goes numb (if a guy goes back and forth from ear to ear really fast I'll fall: it's happened)

85. I love to drive a 5-speed (nothing's sexier than popping a clutch and shifting gears)

86. I prefer sun-roofs to convertibles

87. My decisions about God are spiritual - not intellectual - so don't argue with me about them

88. I don't claim to know anything about your soul, so please don't speculate about mine

89. Nothing will ever change my love for God

90. I work best when someone is depending on me (like waiting tables)

91. I love children

92. I will have a daughter named Tuesday

93. I will be a professor of linguistics one day

94. I will publish a memoir when I'm 60: it will tell the story of my life one album at a time (because my music collection is my life-story)

95. The man I marry will be just like me

96. I hate olives

97. If you want to ask me something: ask. Never fucking whine!

98. If you want my attention: say my name. Never fucking tap me on the shoulder!

99. I never said "fuck" until I was 18.

100. I'm not a morning person simply becuase I would always rather be sleeping.

101. I am "saving myself for marriage" because life naturally breaks off pieces of me enough so that I deserve to keep as much of myself intact as I choose to

9:00 a.m. ::
prev :: next