Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

let me not the marriage of true minds admit impediments

June 20, 2003
It came quietly and with only a mild fever.

The children gave me love and attention: the boys all went to the drugstore to fill a plastic box full of sundries, and handed it to me wrapped in toilet-paper.

Playing cards, gum, a highlighter, plastic jewelry, and a small stuffed pig were among the gifts.

Then they lined up and asked for hugs. I'm serious. Isn't that cute? All these seventh-graders!

Mama sent me a previously-unreleased bootleg of Bob Dylan live in '66 at Albert Hall: the first time he took his folk and went electric.

She also sent me a portable set of Shakespeare's complete works: it came at just the right time, too. I've been forgetting some of his stuff.

Muriah sent me a Frank Lloyd Wright tote bag. It's cute and retro and suits me well.

John-Michael sent his love.

Maggie called.

My cousin and Nick both sent an ecard.

ohio21boy remembered, and he's the only d-lander who came through for me. Thanks, Kevin: you're my idol!

V was the best, though. She stayed at my side the whole day, and even turned down her friends. We went to Barnes and Noble - at her suggestion - to have coffee and cake and browse the books.

After her riding lesson we rented movies. The night was spent with frozen pizza, Skittles, The Recruit, and Ferris Bueller's Day Off.

My dad forgot, and so did Nathanael, and Lindsay, and Tylere, and Joy, and Rosemary.

But regardless, I'm twenty-five now. And I'm pretty sick, too. The rest of the weekend will be full of more movies with V, and hopefully my deadbeat dad and friends popping in with their belated wishes. And my hasty recovery.

Sunday Asit will join the children and me for a lovely dinner on the bay.

Someone drink for me tonight, and make a toast to a quarter-century.

10:20 a.m. ::
prev :: next