Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

hot crossed buns

December 01, 2004
Ran into Joe today for the first time in months. We were both well-dressed for class-time commitments and eating breakfast at the Bloomington Bagel Company (best Bagel this side of the Hudson River). I patted his cheek and hugged him as though he were some child that I found amusing. Really, my reaction towards him felt weird. We talked about his dog as though that puppy were our one connection. Later I realized that that is precisely true. Joe and I have naught between us except for our affection for that Mastif. I watched Joe's face as he told a story about how is heritage in Peoria, Illinois - that bastion for breeding of Mid Western liberals - would bolster his plans for becoming a Democratic politician after he receives his PhD in psychology. I didn't know quite well what he was talking about, because all I could think of was how absolutely gorgeous my boyfriend is compared to him. But not only that, how interesting Mike is compared to Joe. How much better dressed. How much better suited for me in general. Mike is this incredible friend to me; if he had never dated me I would still be friends with him. We agree in our attitudes and senses of humor. All those things that make friends fun to hang out with - shared interests - are the things Mike and I enjoy, and things Joe and I eternally lack. I hugged him goodbye and was genuinely happy to have run into him, but a moment with him simply illuminated to me so much the degree to which my Michael has blessed my life. Oh, and good Lord is my boyfriend hot. So hott.

Now I want to line up every man I've been with and enumerate the ways in which Mike surpasses them. Eclipses them. But itemizing that is too indulgent in negativity to be healthy. A more constructive use of my time may be a list of all the good traits boys in my past had which Mike now offers in one convenient package. Something like, "so-and-so was totally lame except for that dance he made up for Hello Nasty; whats-his-face sucked pretty hard but he was a good cook," and then put them all together to explain how Mike is the Ultimate Boyfriend.

He's like my universal remote.

3:53 p.m. ::
prev :: next