Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

which will you love the best?

April 01, 2005
They rejected me.

Remember how I said I'd carved myself into a narrow groove? Well, my plan A-Z was to get my PhD at the University of South Carolina, and they turned me down.

There's no good reason for this. I've obtained an MA from a higher-teired university than theirs. The only reasoning I can come too - and the intuition of my family etc. - is that it is Providence.

It is that benevolent cycle of God's where what we think we want is stripped away only to be replaced by something more wonderful than we had imaged ourselves worthy of.

I was stunned yesterday. Suddenly thrust out of this protective membrane of University life. I feel like I did on the cusp of my stint in NY. Like a screaming baby delivered from the warm protection of the womb, where not even breathing is the same.

USC was going to be only an hour away from Mike. Where I'd finish the PhD and him his DMD and so on. And it's the only PhD program to which I applied.

In NY I found a safe environment, though. I lived with a family, you know. So basically I was paid to be a big-sister. Not exactly "real world" job there.

For instance: after gouging the side of my employers vehicle on the side of a UPS truck he says, "You need to get more sleep, Michaela!" Then he bought a new vehicle.

Now it's resume time. It's time to suit myself up and seek a Real Job. Because it will be a good three years before I go back for my PhD.

Why?

Because I'm getting married you fools. And sooner than I'd previously announced. Make sure I have your addresses. The "save the date" cards will be sent in May.

I'm getting married? I'M GETTING MARRIED!! Screw USC! Screw IU! Screw the whole lot of them. My wedding day is approaching. With all it's elegance and grandeur of a proper southern wedding. In the most elegant and grand city of the South: Charleston. (Pronounced: Chahhhhllst'n)

This August I'm moving there. To the city where he lives. Finally I will be in proximity with my fiance! In proximity with the ocean. Near to my family.

We've already found subletters for my lease here in Bloomington. I'll work a couple jobs all summer. I'll walk in the procession in May and receive my Master's degree. Then... finally the Belle will return to the land of Spanish moss and palmettos. Marshes of the Low Country. Pecan groves and wind-gnarled live-oaks. Soul food and sea food. And him.

I told him that my closest people were telling that this is like, "God closes a door and opens a window," situation.

"No, baby. I think God just closed the window and is opening a door."

As crazy as this may sound, though, my little brother told me he just fell in love and I'm more excited about that right now. I mean, he's 23 and soon to have a birthday so he's due a bit of romance, so my excitement isn't for a first date or something. In fact, I'm worried he may get married before I do.

He called me last night and, "Kate," he says (because he calls me that). "I've been saved by a woman."

10:40 a.m. ::
prev :: next