Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

vanity, vanity, all is vanity

April 03, 2005
I've written a great many things over the span of my life. Sometimes I run across them, reorganize them, and process them anew.

But the Ecclesiastical prophet is right in saying that there is nothing new under the sun... because what I have learned from self-expression was summed up by Aristotle:

It is absurd to hold that a man ought to be ashamed of being unable to defend himself with his limbs, but not of being unable to defend himself with speech and reason [logos], when the use of rational speech is more distinctive of a human being than the use of his limbs

He's absolutely right.

But I fear the Ecclesiastical prophet may have been a little jaded. Even though he came from an ancient world of the B.C. era he found no comfort in that the world moved in cycles. He said,

"The sun rises and the sun sets, and hurries back to where it rises. The wind blows to the south and turns to the north; round and round it goes, ever returnin on its course. All streams flow into the sea, yet the sea is never full. TO the place the streams come from, there they return again. All things are wearisome, more than one can say. They eye never has enough of seeing, nor the ear its fill of hearing. What has been will be again, what has been done will be done again; there is nothing new under the sun.

But I am Justcircles and I love the ebb and flow. Especially my own.

And like Aristotle, I defend myself with speech and reason.

11:32 p.m. ::
prev :: next