Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

In a Vint Age

June 03, 2004
Sometimes I just wake up and brush my teeth and listen to the Appleseed Cast and I worry that perhaps now that I'm (nearly) 26 am I falling into the catagory of being "so five years ago"?

At least I'm 26 and have avoided full-time nine-to-five work.

I also don't have a car or an iPod or a counter-top Kitchen Aid mixer.

The more I think about going to Florida for my birthday to see my family and my boyfriend the more my heart swells and yearns for just such comfort.

The last time I spent a birthday with my family was ten years ago, my Sweet Sixteen.

Seventeen I was at summer camp.

Eighteen I was in a pre-college honors program.

Nineteen I was white-water rafting with college buddies.

Twenty through twenty-five I had to work on my birthday.

But now Mama lives on Amelia Island, FL, where she grew up and where we used to vacation when I was a kid. Haven't seen her since Christmas and I've never seen her house. My sister and her husband will be there (I'll probably ride with them). My 23-year-old brother will be there (which is a miracle) with his long-time girl-roommate. My 21-year-old brother will be there (which is a miracle, as well) with his new-found love and live-in girlfriend.

Then there will be me with my angelic sweetheart.

Beaches, seafood, sunshine, family, lovers, reunions, and birthdays. Yay June!

10:19 a.m. ::
prev :: next