Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

trapped in ice

February 06, 2004
I had lunch with Winter today. As a sort of natural progression in the day, we accompanied each other after our study group this morning, and ended up at Lenny's. It was pleasant

Our homework this week in math is either less hard or I'm more apt.

Today there is a talk with Doug Hofstadter I'm attending, with the hopes of feeling captured by his research and in return achieving a position in his quirky lab.

Then my cv would have "Doug Hofstadter, Pulitzer Prize" on it.

He won it for non-fiction in 1980.

Godel, Escher, Bach it's called, I believe.

Speaking of hopes, Johnny F., on Friendster sent me the most amazingly fascinating message. Sometimes it doesn't take much to turn me on, and this fella managed to find that tiny essence of "just enough" that gets the job done.

I am not going to prolonge the mode of internet, though, because that creates problems. Once I thought it was a good idea to talk with a guy online for a while before meeting them in person.

Now I don't agree so much. The sooner you meet, the sooner you know if the face-to-face experience is rock'n'roll enough to exert yourself in email.

I talked with Chris too long. And Patrick. And Jordan. And Matthew just found me completely exposed.

But the face-to-face with him was pure rock'n'roll.

I'm running late and must go.

2:31 p.m. ::
prev :: next