Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

Will You Take Me As I Am? Strung Out On Another Man?

February 21, 2003
For some reason I love writing when I'm strung out on a long night. When I can still taste the cigarettes. I think about things to write while standing on subway platforms, and sleeping first is never the best idea. Anyway, anything that doesn't get said properly here will be re-captured in its true light on Tuesday, as always.

I had a great hair-day today, for starters.

Maggie and I went to the top of the Empire State Building after lunch. I'd never been, and I honestly thought I would go into convulsions (due to all that shit with my body getting freaked out by heights and arguing with my brain about how I'm about to die) but since the elevators were enclosed and the observatory didn't look STRAIGHT down I was perfectly normal.

As normal as ever, of course.

The damn Circle-Line cruise which swings down half the Hudson and up half the East River changed their schedule on us so we missed that. Too bad, too, since today was crystal-clear and in the upper-forties.

The Museum of Natural History took the later afternoon, then, since the cruise was out, and we got to see lots of dinosaur bones.

The whole day, actually was very low-key. Just the two of us sharing a day together (which is no longer normal, and is therefore weird since we've been up each-other's asses since ninth grade) in a dreamy city.

For the later evening I got to show her a smidge of Brooklyn where we went to see Runner and the Thermodynamics play. That's the Boston band Jordan manages, and they made me happy. It was also nice to see Jordan (and his HOTT friend Eric), but I'm tempted to re-draw my paint-shop diagram and erase the question marks I put around him. There's no question. He's too effeminate for me -- I finally figured out -- but I'm bound to become excellent chums with him.

It was a rock show, and Maggie was with me, just like highschool, and college, and we really did feel like we were seventeen.

In fact, feeling seventeen was the goal for this week.

While I was stranded in Atlanta earlier this week, Maggie and I were driving down an old block in Marietta that was packed with memories. I called my sister and asked her to meet us for lunch, and when she said "yeah" me and Maggie started cheering and dancing in the car. To our delight the young (and I daresay YOUNG) man next to us was all smiles. For some reason the whole scenario was so unbelievably SO 1995 that instead of giving my current response of just not smiling and looking away, I doubled over in laughter and waved.

Seventeen was a good year. Not that I'd relive it but I certainly don't regret it.

So we felt seventeen today.

You have all read of my bitching about riding the late-night train to Long Island alone, and how much that blows. Well, last night and tonight (and tomorrow night and the next) I've not been alone and it really is more comforting. Going home alone is one of the saddest feelings (depends on certain surrounding factors, of course, but in general, for me it is).

My cd's came in today. The six I ordered last week. I love how people influence my cd buying. It really is my selection process, because I'm so bad at making decisions. It's obvious that my conversation with Matthew brought certain cd's to the front of my mind, though, and I almost didn't think about that when I ordered them. Or maybe I just re-realized it when opening the package today.

Welcome to Michaela World: where everyone leaves their mark.

And now for some symbolism, I sliced the tip of my thumb while opening the Wilco cd (it's got that card-board wrap you know).

Just as I predicted, I am ill today, can't stop coughing, loving the Robotussin (or whatever I took). I simply must become more sanitary. My idescrete behavior has inarguably lead to my current disease. Unfortunately, there's no way of knowing what things are incubated in a kiss until a good seven days later, it seems.

Here's a photograph of me and my three best guy friends. The three that will always be there. They just will. If I had to give a rose to three guys, these three would get one. Thank you, boys, for having wives I can love. I promise to find a man suitable for your company as well, but he probably will be skinny, because I like them skinny. He'll be all rock and roll, though, just like you and me.

1:30 a.m. ::
prev :: next