Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

the sharks own private fuck

September 20, 2003
Doug Martsch completely mesmorized me last night.

Cincinatti is an irritating little city, though.

The venue was nice, and my companion - George the physicist from UTK - was conversant and pleasant and easygoing.

Perhaps some of you don't listen to Built to Spill. Perhaps some of you do listen a little but just never really realized how amazing they are. Focus on the intricacies. They're there.

If you could see Doug Martsch perform you would think to yourself, as I did, "This is one of the best guitar players I've ever seen."

Oh, and I've seen some really good guitar players, too.

They played Cortez the Killer for four hours. I mean, I have no concept of time, and George said it was only about fifteen or twenty minutes but that might as well have been four hours.

In the encore they played Car, and though I could tell he's tired as hell of singing that song (or, rather, of hearing swarms of worshippers sing that song at him while he plays), I was still very happy to hear it.

So I understand that bands get tired of playing their most popular songs, because they always have to play them and they would rather play their new stuff, but when it's my first goddam time seeing them play, I really want to hear the shit I love.

Carry the Zero just didn't make the cut.

The new shit is really good. I suspect Martsch is going to put out a reggae album.

So, the plan to go see BTS was formulated after I had already made plans to have coffee with the hot fourth-year physicist from London, "Kareem".

Upon hearing about the concert, I called the pretty boy and left a message telling him about my change of plans.

Aparently he didn't get the message, and later last night I received a text page asking if I'd decided not to show up. I felt sort of shitty.

But this is the stressful part. I love giving out my phone number. I don't love first dates. or first "things".

Plus, I'm really not in a good place to start shit with anybody right now.

Not to mention I've got to go read Searle and some neuroscience.

I'll try and give your asses some pictures soon, okay?

1:44 p.m. ::
prev :: next