Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

No Sleep [Since] Brooklyn

June 14, 2004
Last night I got really homesick for my boyfriend after watching The Stepford Wives. And, yes, homesick is the right word. He's one of the few things in this world that has ever made me feel like I belong.

While I stood in the downtown and talked to him - telling him I didn't know if I could handle a long-distance relationship, I realized that sounded like it was the RELATIONSHIP that was troublesome, but I just meant the distance.

Then I sat in the Cajun restaurant with Greg and Nolan and I think my mood was aparent. Tends to be the case with me anyway.

I told them I was just tired after a weekend of very-late drinking and day-time sleeping. I told them Bloomington is a great town... if it weren't in Indiana. I do feel a little trapped here. No car. No money. This week's trip to FL will be welcomed in more ways than just a few.

My ticket was already purchased so my tiredness and pouty mood weren't enough to keep me away, so I went to last night's show.

And I'm glad I did.

The three of us went to see Tortoise last night - who's on Thrill Jockey with other great bands such as Califone, The Lithops, and The Sea and Cake - but I was very impressed by the opening band. If any of you ever hear of Pit Er Pat playing near you then you should try to catch them.

The whole show sort of lulled me back into my theater seat as I got lost in the feast for my eyes of very talented percussionists. The rhythms just set my imagination into a metronome mode and seriously was just what I needed.

Tortoise is a beautiful band live. Absolutely gorgeous.

I am homesick, though. Have been for a while. New York was hard. Now everything I love is in the South. But I want my education. Can I make it for four years?

I'm basically completely confused about everything and I'm looking forward to seeing Mike and my family this week in hopes they all have good counsel for me.

11:11 a.m. ::
prev :: next