Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

oh, noose

March 15, 2004
The weekend never made me feel like writing. It was hour after hour of experiences, and I prefer to sometimes wait till the end before I write, you know?

When I got home on Thursday my front door was decorated with "WHY WE LOVE MICHAELA" construction-paper notes from my girls.

One of my favorite reasons was, "you can take the girl out of the south, but you can't take the b-o-u-r-b-o-n out of Michaela, you goddamn sonofabitch."

That night at karaoke one of the servers, Neil, was all flirty and buying me drinks and doing shots with me while the bartender, Crowbar, was doing the same for Amelia.

We were trashed when we left and Neil had my phone number. I see him about four times a week, though, by going into Bear's all the time while he's working. He seems chill, though.

Friday I met with the department chairs to tell them we need grad-student lockers. Liaisoning is tough with a hangover.

Friday night at Que, as I sat perched by the table, a strange fella in my math class comes to greet me and smile awkwardly. He's so amazingly "one of those cog sci" guys that I didn't even have to explain him to my friends.

The instant he walks away I'm approached by a hip-hop skater kid not a day over 21, but looks 17. He asked me six questions.

"Did you used to date a guy named Eric? Did you just break up with your boyfriend? Do you have a boyfriend? When's your birthday? Where'd you get your tattoo? When do you begin your menstrual cycle?"

Then he bought me and all my friends a beer.

Later at the Vid I gave my number to Brittney again.

At one point, while I was giving him shit for never having called me, he stepped back onto Jason's foot.

Just know Jason is like my fellas in Tennessee (he's from there, actually), and would - yea could - kick someones ass for me, and would enjoy it. He's put himself at my ass-kicking disposal, in fact.

So Brittney (whose actual name is Chris) says to Jason, "the last thing I wanted to do is step on your foot."

My comrade's reply?

"It's better than fucking with Michaela."

My options at the end of the night as Chris stood there with my number saying, "please don't leave, I really want to kiss you," were me to his or him to my place and I was *trashed*.

What made me go home alone?

The desire to wake up alone, and that's it.

My bartender at the Vid, Jim, is someone I fall in love with everytime I get drunk. And JR my emcee at karaoke. I love them both immensely.

Saturday I went house hunting, napped, and then to see Guided by Voices here at our own Bluebird.

They sucked so amazingly bad that after proclaiming notdork Amelia and Greg and I left... to the Vid.

Greg and I were ready to kick it, but Amelia hadn't had any sleep from the night before because she *did* bring someone home with her, so she just left. Greg and I could walk home.

After a round of darts and a couple beers I ran into Joe and he grabbed both of my hands instead of giving me the lo-5 I sought.

Taking advantage of his positive-ness I landed myself an early ride home since it'd begun to rain.

To avoid actually talking to Joe, I just told him the story of the guy who asked about my period, and then I was home.

So I'm almost done with another Douglas Coupland book, and it's doing that thing to me that only this author can do.

Saturday night I drank some wine here and read a few chapters, and then cried myself to sleep. It was the cry that I had needed during my weeks of waxing and waning depression, and so I got it out Saturday.

Yesterday morning my neighbor took me to a church in a neighboring town. A biker church. I loved it.

Then we went to Cracker Barrel for lunch, because that's what church-people do, and I hadn't done it in years.

After my Sunday-afternoon nap (I love spring break) we headed up to Indianapolis to see Spearhead. It'd been so long since I'd grooved to a funky reggae jamm that I enjoyed every second of the preachy-lovey "power to the peaceful" scene. Sweet, bleary-eyed boys with dread-locks and Birkenstocks that I just petted and smiled at.

During the concert I missed phone calls from Neil and Chris both.

Good for them.

Good for me.

Those of you in large cities, though, try to realize that I gave my phone number to two guys this weekend, and in this small town I *will* see them over and over and over again. They both called, and though I expect it should all play out cool, the worst-case scenario is pretty bad.

But we never anticipate worst-cases in the land of the Just Circles.

10:25 a.m. ::
prev :: next