Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

wipe that look off your face

March 10, 2004
The chair of my department is insane, but he quelled me notably today while we smoked together in the quad and he listed funding opportunities for me.

His speculation is that when it comes down to it I'll have to decide which opportunities to accept... and which to decline.

Then he told me in the fall I can apply to the PhD program.

He can afford to be so personable, though, because he's leaving on Saturday to go to Venice ("you should come see me!" he said. "My apartment will be huge.") and we're appointing a new chair.

I also accepted my officer position of "facculty liaison" for the linguistics club today, and we had our first meeting.

My phonetics project - involving a comparison between diphthongs and plain vowels in southern speakers - is moving along nicely, too.

::sigh::

I think the best cure for depression (for me) is "give it a week and take on more responsibility so you have less time to introspect."

This entry is boring, but I'm okay.

7:12 p.m. ::
prev :: next