Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

It Is Possible That I Am Not Wonder Woman, Or The Green Latern

April 17, 2003
I've been angry this evening because of my twins.

They never make me mad, but I'm heart-pounding furious: especially with J.

V's sneaking around talking to some guy who I have (in my cool-nanny kind of way) forbidden her to talk to.

I get her into Modest Mouse and Bright Eyes and this is the thanks I get?

J - my darling pet - left the house today while I was out.

After receiving explicit instructions to call me on my cell if he made plans.

I returned home to a note.

He informed me he would be at Alex's house, and for me to call when dinner was ready.

I called after cooking a baked-chicken that dried up and fell to pieces (okay, it really wasn't that bad, but I am better with meats than that).

The father at the house where I called said J had not been there all day.

I called a second home and the mother told me "they all went to town and are at Gino's."

I wanted to yell at her for being a careless mother for allowing a pack of twelve-year-olds to walk "into town."

This isn't 1949 (at first I wrote 1947, but then I changed it).

When I came alongside the group of boys they were pushing a shopping cart full of a dog down the sidewalk - a long way off from any stores. J was instructed to get in the car, and I refused to give any one else a ride home.

All the boys accused me of "selling out" (one actually said that) because I'm supposed to be "cool" and run the party.

Woo Hoo

I was so controlled and dead-set in my tone with J, telling him he is inconsiderate and irresponsible, that he just sat silently.

Just because I allow a little more than his parents would does not mean he is permitted to sneak around behind MY back. I do not aprove of NO supervision at all. He's helpless, and he's not my own child, and he's compromised my integrity by being so brazen.

He's twelve. Just twelve. Only twelve.

When his mother came home I told him I wanted him to talk to her first. I told him I had always admired his honesty with his mom.

He instead got her to drive him to a friend's house.

So now I have to talk to her.

Tell her that I didn't have control.

That I'm not capable of protecting her child according to her rules.

Thanks, J.

Tomorrow we're driving to Pennsylvania first thing in the morning (or PENIS-ilvania as our Portuguese house-keeper calls it, by accident).

I get dropped off in Harrisburg to stay with my mom's sister, and then the children travel on with only their mom for Easter weekend.

So: do I ruin his weekend?

Do I just NOT TELL?

There's no chance his father will ever hear because he would do nothing but ground the boy until he left for college.

Did I mention I'm sick, too?

I'm dissociated in the head with intense sinus pressure right now.

I hate the direction they're taking Friends with this Rachel-Joey thing.

I hate that Scrubs used a Bare Naked Ladies song on tonights episode.

I hope my cousins give me a little something to drink.

I hope I can get friendly with the one guy at the record store so he'll go to shows with me. I don't know his name, but I'm pretty sure he thinks I'm cute. He wore a Strokes tshirt today. He lives on Long Island instead of in NYC which means he (might) have a car. Then he could drive me out to the Field Day.

I bought Cursive and Ranier Maria's new albums.

in other news...

I got an apartment today.

I sent a security deposit and application to a friendly lady out in Bloomington, and by Tuesday the lease will be signed.

*gulp*

Tonight the idea of living alone is a sweeter disposition than any I have ever known.

I'll be fucking twenty-five years old: give me a home!

And a masters' degree!

And a new car!

And some Twizzlers!

thank you for listening to the rant

I feel much better now.

S (the mother) and I just had a long talk. She doesn't think I suck. J told her all about it.

Next week is spring break.

The children will be home with me for five days.

This means: constant surveilance of V to make sure she doesn't get hot'n'heavy with this ASSHOLE she's been "talking" to.

And constant policing of the boy-fun of J and all his buddies.

Fortunately these parents I work for understand the developmental wonderland I'm up against.

I want a beer.

8:09 p.m. ::
prev :: next