Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

dude, I got a Dell!

July 14, 2003
Ah, me! back in the city for a lovely weekend. Michelle has moved in with Asit now, and the three of us get along like beer and pot and pizza.

Saturday afternoon I went to a tattoo parlour and described my ideas to a young man from Israel who drew things out for me perfectly.

Wednesday night I'll return to the city to have the work started (and hopefully finished).

I've wanted to have a tattoo done for some time now, but the moment certainly seemed perfect, and the concept, as well.

The rest of my afternoon was spent at Patio with Eric where he let me bake a cherry pie.

We danced and sang and walked back and fourth down 2nd Ave. past a bum sleeping all sprawled out on the sidewalk. Every time we passed I'd say (in my Southren accent), "Baby please! Goddammit baby! Git up! Git UP baby! You are embarrassing me!"

It was funny.

Then Eric asked if he could take me out on a date, and I told him no, but that we could hang out. I always have a good time with him; he's been a good friend, so I gave him my phone number. Then I told him I met a guy I really feel differently about, a guy who I'd be spending all of Sunday with.

Eric was a bit crestfallen. Felt a little "shot down". But these things are to be expected.

Asit and I ate at Planet Thailand in Williamsburgh for our usual. It never gets old, either. Pad Thai; spring rolls; steamed mussels. Shit. It's so good. And less than $20.

We took it easy Saturday night and drank little. Had some fun at Beauty Bar where Michelle and I introduced ourselves as sisters and Asit as our bastard brother from when our dad slept with the maid.

There's nothing you can do but laugh.

"If it walks like a slut; smells like a slut; and fucks like a slut; then it's a slut."

Just to clear up any misconceptions.

Asit stopped for beer and Michelle bought a sunflower, and I commented that I would be sold if Kasey showed up with flowers the next day. She asked if we had talked flowers or if I had any reason to expect flowers, and I said no, but it had been years since a boy gave me flowers.

We drank beer and watched Cocktail.

I woke up over and over again waiting to hear from Kasey, and then preparing myself for dissapointment.

Of course, the latter was not necessary.

I was so anxious for his arrival that I was sweating like a silly dog and dancing like some foot-loose wannabe to "She Bop".

I lit up and Asit asked if Kasey smoked. No.

"Go brush your teeth!"

Kasey came like my very own bundle of sunshine and he squeazed all the anxiety out of me with his super-strong hug. I swear, this boy's got arms like Popeye.

Then he handed me some wildflowers. Roadside picks.

Pardon me while my head swims in my memory and I forget to breathe for a second...

We did lunch and dinner and in between we did Central Park. There's so much to see there on a warm, July, Sunday afternoon.

Eric called me and left a message. I told him I'd be with my boy all day. Poor thing.

Kasey helped me find a secluded spot I had rested in last September, where we could sit quietly and watch the people in boats. Where we could watch turtles, too.

I saw his paintings, and this one he had of a bird was in my dreams all night last night.

I was mesmorized by his work. It reminded me of Klimt and Peter Max. Colors and brightness and sheer beauty.

At a little before eleven we got into his car, weary from the walking, and tasted the saline on each other's skin. We were like teenagers, really. Bashful making-out in a parked-car. He said he liked the taste of cigarettes - that it's a bit of a turn-on, so after a day of abstaining for his sake, I enjoyed a couple.

Then he drove me home to the sounds of cowboy music (Tumblin' Tumble Weeds), the Flaming Lips, and Jane's Addiction. His favorite music, though, is Tom Waits, and that's just swell. He told me he's already made me two compilations to give me before I leave.

I still had a satisfied tummy full of his kissing-goodness when I woke up this morning, and I don't think I'll need anything else all week, unless it's more of the same.

Next weekend he said he's kidnapping me. He also said he's not sure if he can wait until next weekend to see me again.

So, what's the conclusion?

How am I feeling?

What do I see going on here?

He's flooding my heart with his generous honesty and tender affection and freely confessing his comfort and contentment with my company which vocalizes my thoughts of feeling natural. When I leave we will expand across the distance and develop a solid-rock friendship and I'll let him woo me.

He understands the process. He knows how these things build over time. He knows that by removing all the layers too quickly mistakes are made.

I got to talk to my sister when she and mom and I got on 3-way: one in NY, one in Montana, and one holdin' down the fort in Georgia. I'm so ready to go home!

This is Michaela in July of 2003: it can be done and I'm doing it.

God gives his angels charge over me.

10:20 a.m. ::
prev :: next