Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

Cotton Candy

July 08, 2003
Dissapointments and discouragements and times being told my plan is impossible are inumerable. Even in my recent past.

What I've learned from them is to pause from my plans and redirect my energy, focus, change my scenery.

So today I walked into Borders bookstore to aleviate the stress of hearing there were no cars in the state of New York for me to rent for moving home in a few weeks.

A man in the philosophy section started talking to me. He was older, with white hair and a thick indigenous accent. He commended my selection of Sophie's World and suggestion Sienfeld and Philosophy.

Then he told me a story, about how in the 1950's he made a pact with a close school-friend.

The pact was to meet in 1984, on the Fourth of July, at 4:00pm, near 84th street (the Guggenheim, precisely).

They were some kids who read the Orwell book and made a pact to meet regardless.

He said after time they did indeed lose contact, but at the end of the twenty-five years, two weeks before the date, he received a letter from England, from his friend, telling him he'd have to miss the meeting.

Before leaving me, the man exhorted me to do the same with a friend from college.

I found a Ralph Stanley and the Clinch Mountain Boys cd that I hadn't been able to find, too. It's the same bluegrass music that was on that tape that man made for mom when I was a kid. The one we listened to when we moved to Vermont. The songs that have been stuck in my head for seventeen years but that I've not heard sung since then.

Also, some Sam Cooke, and Ted Leo/Pharmacists, Hearts of Oak. I can't wait to see him for *free* with Modest Mouse and !!! and the Kills and Hot Hot Heat...

Jordan was in Great Neck today and came by the house to hang out for a couple of hours. It was so nice to have an opportunity to sit and talk with him in quiet, with no music. He's been a good find for me in this city.

Thanks internet personals!

8:25 p.m. ::
prev :: next