Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

a house built on a rock

November 30, 2003
And no, I did not tumble into any abyss, nor did I grow weary of my chronicles. I have simply let myself go home.

My mother is packing to move to her childhood home and we all are celebrating her change.

My sister prepared an immaculate Thanksgiving dinner, afterwhich we four children (plus two significant others) laughed hystercally. We are each other's best audience.

My youngest brother accompanied me to the "biological family" on Friday to spend to nights up in the mountains at Grandmother's house. Forty some odd people scattered at the four houses on the property took my brother in as though he were their own, around bonfires and stretched tables. My baby cousin, Griffin, who is almost three, took me by the hand and introduced me as his friend, and then added, "I think she's my cousin." My family is strong and close and loving and intelligent and we had rich and dynamic conversations all weekend. It was the most consecutive time I've spent with my brother in years.

Back in Atlanta today I spent a couple hours at my other brother's apartment where he demonstrated his beautiful music to me and expressed his desire to host Christmas this year.

Oh, and I saw my dad, too. Once again he asked if the psychologists I knew did anything clinical. Despite my having told him I know no clinicians repeatedly. In a moment of clarity, though, he told me he feared his upcoming wedding somewhat due to his poor history with marriages. I told him he was right to fear, but not to let that stop him. I hope he tries, and I hope this works.

Everybody needs somebody, everybody needs someone, don't you know that you need somebody? you're not the only one

I'm back with my mother and sister tonight, and tomorrow I'll return to Bloomington. It would be nice to have a ride... but I'll take the "shuttle" back to school from Indy (maybe a physicist will take me home... damn: that Joe came in handy!). For the ride to the airport I was driven by Winter, which was an unexpected blessing. His schedule allowed me to finish my four papers before flying out on Wednesday. Though I only had two hours of sleep, I think I might have made A's on all four.

No drama. No stress. No frustration. Just love, and thankfulness that I am finally in a place in my life where I'm not waiting for the next step.

I'm living today's dream today, and when this is done I'll have to come up with a new dream!

7:11 p.m. ::
prev :: next