Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

If I Could Do Something About It, Believe Me, I Would

March 28, 2003
Brown University sent their apologies. Good thing I've started setting my sites for the midwest, right?

I knew the Ivy League wouldn't take me out of undergrad - I knew that three years ago when I chatted up the chair of the graduate department at Yale - but they'll be begging for me for the PhD. You just wait.

MIT and Noam Chomsky will request me personally.

At the grocery store today I saw Yoko Ono, in the check-out line, causing problems, as usual.

music music music

Is anyone really interested in hearing me talk about music? Maybe a couple of you. Let me say this:

I've made exactly eight compilation cd's in the last two weeks. Eight different cd's for seven totally different people (I don't think any of the seven are even aware of the existence of any of the others, so they all feel really special).

My kids have had to listen to them all, too, while I'm "proof-listening," and now they're singing along with Modest Mouse, White Stripes, Bright Eyes, Wilco, Jeff Buckley, Flaming Lips, Ben Folds, Bouncing Souls, Air, and basically stuff that literally makes their friends say, "who ever heard of these bands?"

I'm a success!

My little girl wants to get some Chucks this weekend.

But the *concentration* is nuts, you know, because the compilations are PERFECT.

I've been straining over them.

Almost to the point that my music is rubbing my ears raw.

I wish I could find a different way to consume music beside through my ears, because I don't want it to stop, I just need some silence.

I bought a Low cd today.

9:47 p.m. ::
prev :: next