Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

Entry No. 100

January 26, 2003
this is my 100th entry alright

I started this back in September, after moving away from Tennessee, just so my few friends at home who kept journals could read about my life without me having to write mass emails.

Now there are about fifteen or so some odd people (very odd in fact) who I've never met who read. I don't have a schtick, and I don't seek to be something other people are not in their journals, so I completely appreciate all the readers who come back and back and back.

For all who don't know me beyond this, here's my deal:

I went to college in Tennessee, and after graduating last December (I went for five years, and took one semester off to work construction and buy a car) I worked two part time jobs trying to figure out how to use a degree in English and journalism.

My landlord was selling the house I'd lived in for three years, and my roommate had found a new home, and nothing was turning up for me. I tried to find an apartment on my own in Chattanooga but it fell through.

Then one night online I put up a resume on a nanny site, as a whim.

Four weeks later I was living in New York, about twenty miles from New York City. I live with a family where both parents are lawyers, and I take care of their twin twelve-year-olds, a boy and a girl, named J and V. I also cook dinner, but we have a housekeeper so I don't clean toilets.

In just a flash I was here, and it has served the purpose of me paying off my debts, and applying to graduate schools, so now I'm waiting for the accaptence letters (or not) and come next fall I'll be propelled into a new life.

I loved Tennessee, not for it's slow, impossible job market or happening night life, but becuase I found my life-long frineds there.

After my junior year of college I never had another boyfriend because I couldn't see beyond the next three months, and I still can't, and so I will continue to be single. I'm not good at just dating, though, so it's kind of funny to see how I screw that up. Funny for you, I hope. I thought I might get a trophy NYC boyfriend, but who am I kidding? I'm undeniably a 24-year-old woman looking for THE ONE and I have been all my life.

But I always had people, and now I'm adjusting to the next few years of not having the comfort of going out for coffee alone at one in the morning and finding three other friends at the same place. I'm adjusting to not being known. I'm learning how to enjoy myself for myself and by myself.

I think if a settled life made itself available to me I would take it, but so far nothing is written in stone for me.

But I know my family is the strongest support I'll ever find, and that my friends are the most solid rock I'll ever cling to. No matter how much snow is falling nothing will obscure the absolute truth of their love.

So this is my one hundredth entry, and writing here has taught me much. Thank you for noticing my evolution.

The Bucs won tonight!!!

11:50 p.m. ::
prev :: next