Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

sea of love

May 26, 2004
It's become ridiculous how much time has lapsed since I last updated. Perhaps the greatest laps of time in the nearly-two-years I've written here. But this week makes updating hard.

Mike is leaving on Sunday and just like that I'll be in a long-distance relationship. But I'm not in the least worried. This relatioship is going on and on.

Do you realize that I have seen him *Every Day* since the first night we hung out? We've been together for nearly three months and not a day has gone by that we have not been together. Many of those days were all-day-all-night. And it's still perfect.

He's fucking rad.

I met the parents, out in Pennsylvania, where they live on an Army Base. It was strange to me to see such a counter-culture lifestyle as Army living, but this is how he grew up. I think my civilian life seems strange to him.

But we all seem strange to the Olsen Twins, right?

His little sister reminds me of my little girl in NY.

His mom and I seemed to hit it off really well.

His little brother and I and some other fellas got drunk and shot pool like old buddies.

His father challenged me as to whether I had what it takes to marry a man in his family, and I sort of smiled sweetly and thought to myself that time would tell.

I'm not going to bust my ass to prove anything to anyone. In time you will all see that this man is what I need, and that I am his queen, and we're going to be so sexy it'll barf you all up the wall.

But I'm getting ahead of myself...

Now, back in Bloomington, I am beginning my work with JM and am really excited to be on this project. The people we're collaborating with at Johns Hopkins kick a lot of ass and it'll make my current status soar to be associated with them.

Also, my finances seem to be pretty good. Such that I'll be able to make it to Chicago to see Iron and Wine in July.

And for my birthday? How does a trip to NY sound? I think I'd like to have asitwere, blankwave, and Maggie join me for a family dinner at Carmine's. That and seeing my babies would make my summer perfect.

Well, I'm going to go get drunk now (it's almost four PM) because if I stay sober I'll get depressed about my lover-man's departure.

rock on with a sock on

3:28 p.m. ::
prev :: next