Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

An Outburst of Helplessness

December 03, 2002
Dropping degrees and draining the color from my face

The cold has rushed in on me like the winds from outerspace

That dash across this island and remind me I'm floating

On a barge of filthy suburbs where my concern is promoting

Nothing but myself. If it weren't for these kids I'd rip

Apart at the seams from inward-turning selfish power-trip

Mantras that pollute the air of New York City.

Fine fat paychecks for over-eating and sitting pretty

Make my distance from my origin even more taunting

So I lavish money on others to save myself from flaunting,

Or "getting too big for my britches" as mama warned

Me not to do, but I do, just to see if I can do it.

The journey of a thousand miles mocks me day and night

With sightless sounds from real-lives. I had it right

When I did wrong and missed the sunset for the fresh air.

Take the money, take the city, take me and take me back there!

11:07 p.m. ::
prev :: next