Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

songs that make me cry

May 07, 2003
I'm a comfortable 300 now with my cd collection, and it still seems shabby to me.

It's because of all the guys (scanzilla, satchmo3, blankwave, Jordan, Tylere, etc) I know with their dynamo-libraries spanning vinyl and cassettes and imports and bootlegs and shit.

I'm like that kid on the soccer team who never got bulky no matter how much he lifted, and he was always that scrawny little fucker, but he could scrap if he was up against the wall.

I guess I can scrap.

Today I was rearranging my cd's, like I do about every ten days or every new six albums (like an oil change).

I decided to make a list of songs that will always make me cry.

And in no particular order:

Better Than Ezra Porcelain

"I wish I could kill you, savor the sight, get into my car, drive into the night, then lie as I scream to the heavens above, that I was the last one you ever loved"

Sarah McLachlan Hold On

"...this is going to hurt like hell"

R.E.M. Night Swimming

"You, I thought I knew you, you, I cannot judge, you, I thought you knew me"

Led Zeppelin When the Levee Breaks

"crying won't help you, praying won't do you no good"

Jimi Hendrix Voodoo Chile (Slight Return)

(This song is purely for the impact of the guitar. Tears.)

ZZ Top Blue Jean Blues

"If I ever get back those bluejeans, I know my baby be bringin 'em home to me"

The Cure Pictures Of You

"If only I'd thought of the right words..."

Chris Isaac End of Everything

"Take your love with you when you go"

Jeff Buckley Lover, You Should've Come Over

"Too deaf, dumb, and blind to see the damage I've done"

Phish If I Could

"... I would, but I don't know how"

Badly Drawn Boy This Song

Built to Spill Carry the Zero

"Your so occupied with what other persons are occupied with, and vice versa, and you've become what you thought was dumb: a fraction of the sum"

Derek and the Dominoes Bell Bottom Blues

"Do you want to see me crawl across the floor to you? Do you want to hear me beg you to take me back? I'll gladly do it."

Modest Mouse Trailer Trash

"Short love with a long divorce, and a couple of kids, of course"

Bright Eyes One Foot In Front of the Other

"I don't want to risk our paths crossing one day so you walk that way I'll walk this way"

Coldplay Sparks

"My heart is yours, it's you that I hold on to"

The Connells '74-'75

"you got no reason for coming to me in the rain"

Ben Folds The Luckiest

(hope)

Black Crowes Seeing Things

"sorry ain't nothin to me, I'm gone and that's the way it must be, so please, I've done my time, loving you was such a crime"

The Flaming Lips Waiting for a Superman

"He hasn't dropped them, forgot them, or anything; it's just too heavy for Superman to lift"

Cat Stevens Father and Son

"All the times that I've cried, keeping all the things I knew inside, it's hard, but it's harder to ignore it"

Moody Blues New Horizons

"I have dreams enough for one, but I have love enough for three"

Elvis Costello Good Year for the Roses

"at least you thought you wanted it, that's to much more than I can say for me"

Ben Harper Walk Away

"I would rather be locked to you than live in this pain and misery"

Wiclo Radio Cure

"cheer up, honey, I hope you can"

The Beatles Long Long Long

"How could I ever have lost you when I loved you?"

Bob Dylan Just Like a Woman

"she breaks just like a little girl"

Carol King Home Again

"I really need some one to talk to, and nobody else knows how to comfort me tonight"

Joni Mitchell Case of You

"I remember that time you told me 'love is touching souls' surely you touched mine

Pink Floyd Wish You Were Here

Bonnie Raitt Can't Make You Love Me

"I'll feel the power, but you won't"

Fleetwood Mac Crystal

"then I KNEW..."

Allman Bros. Melissa

"knowing many loving none, bearing sorrow, having fun, but back home he'll always run"

Duncan Shiek Barely Breathing

"You really can't be serious, you have to ask me why, I say goodbye"

Otis Redding These Arms of Mine

"If ou would let me hold you, how happy I would be"

Simon and Garfunkle Bridge Over Troubled Water

(mama always sang it to me)

The Band The Weight

"Put the load right on me"

CCR Have You Ever Seen The Rain

"It'll rain a sunny day"

U2 One

"You gave me nothing now it's all I got"

The stories for these are important, but I've left one song off here, and it's the one I want to talk about tomorrow.

Someday I'll write that memoir, telling my life, one album at a time, lyric by lyric.

10:43 p.m. ::
prev :: next