Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

... but I CAN'T go back home!

May 22, 2003
last night my brother, John-Michael, woke me up with a phone call at four-thirty in the morning; I let it go to voicemail and this is what he had called to say...

You have a small room with the rain beating your window

Records playing all day long

Swimming pool of tears and memories

Do you remember our home with the dirt road we walked on?

And the white church?

Lord, the white church just a mile up the road?

Do you miss the hot air and blue skies?

Do you miss the river and homemade pies?

Is it killing you so bad tears are falling from your eyes?

Waking up early in the morning, blues on the stereo.

Sitting on the front porch listening to some old soul.

I remember you showing me good music

I remember you telling me to push on

So I'm telling you no matter how far the dirt road leads:

It's just who you are

We threw some parties on 13th St.

and the cops never gave a damn

I learned the hard way a .45 will save you from another man

When you're in NYC walking down the avenue

Feel the heat of Georgia

And hear Muddy singin the blues

I don't know why you cry

Or what you think you'll find

But if you have to move on I won't waste any of your time

When you're away from home the Wolf is a good friend to find

Cause the blues in NYC is a contradictory state of mind

1:14 p.m. ::
prev :: next