Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

fend for yourself, show 'em the handshake

October 21, 2003
ugh... Why are Tuesdays my baneful day?

This morning I awoke with Joe's alarm and called my sister to wish her happy 30th birthday (I'm sending her the Cat Power cd, You Are Free) (at first I wrote "Cat Poser"), then I fell back asleep after Joe left at eight.

This began my day with me being behind, so once again I missed lunch with the physicists as I scrambled to complete three assignments in two hours.

Somehow, I keep making A's.

I wish you could have heard Tossi, my short little Japanese friend, talking about how he was going to be at a huge halloween party (that I'm going to) and he was going to be the "most beautiful woman" there. Josh and I were laughing so hard. My linguist friends are starting to grow on me something fierce.

Philosophy class tonight was irritating as hell. They were going round and round talking about how beliefs are prescriptive (normative) and not descriptive. The point I would like to have made if I were equipped with a penis like the other cock-fighters present is: Desires inform folk psychology, which informs beliefs, which creates a nest in which questions are born that can be solved by emperical theories.

I'm saving all my good ideas for that fifty page paper I have to write.

Okay, so last night Joe and I saw Pete Yorn play here, and ladies: his hair is just as good live as it is on the album.

Oh, and his music was fun. He did a Guided by Voices cover, only I cannot remember (or never knew) the title. The thing I like about Yorn is he hits my ear with pleasantry and he requires of me very little.

When I put my ticket stub in my little-used wallet-pocket I found a stub from one Bright Eyes show I saw this summer, and thus inspired a text-message to one the Matthew. He's totally working for a paycheck these days, and I think he's stellar. And his brother makes me nervously happy.

So here's a hi-5 for Lost In Translation which used a My Bloody Valentine song on the soundtrack.

And here's a hi-5 for me because while watching Igby Goes Down I sang along with the song The Weight... and finally commented, "this really sounds like Travis," only to discover I was right. Sometimes I say things and they are correct.

Whats the difference between "proceeds" and "follows"? I'll find out tomorrow when I contest a grade.

Asit send me a CD of all our songs. Each instalment reminded me one after the other of drunken dancing in the dark and pre-dunken excitement for looking so goddam gorgeous before leaving his apartment.

I told Joe a lot about Asit. About how candid I am with him in contrast to other friends (i.e. Tylere) in regards to certain issues. I think Joe appreciates Asit's congratulations, but don't think I didn't also tell him that his car is out of style!

People kept saying, "whoa," when they saw me and it'd irritate me until I remembered I had bleached my hair on Sunday.

Okay... lots to do.

9:04 p.m. ::
prev :: next