Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

good woman

March 22, 2004
Spring break is over, and I feel as though I left without going anywhere.

I was walking to catch a bus on Friday afternoon, and as I came into eye-shot of Joe's house his ex-girlfriend's car pulled up and he came bounding out of the house to greet her. With no side-street to duck down I just turned around - deciding to not make any of us uncomfortable - and called Mike. I don't like calling people to run errands for me, but like he said, I got them done. Made it happen. He was there in an instant.

And he let me drive, too.

We cooked dinner together on Friday, and then watched The Godfather Pt. 1.

I've seen that movie a jillion times, and some people just don't watch it right, but I really enjoyed seeing it with him. He followed it, and laughed really hard at my favorite line.

leave the gun; take the canolli

When we went to meet our friends later at el Vid (side note: many pros and cons to us having all mutual friends) both his ex and Joe were there. Joe just never came into the room where I was - probably because he saw all my friends. For Mike, though, his ex (who is Aaron's house-mate, believe it or not) got a little confrontational.

Once again, it's not always good when everyone is "friends" because Jen is one of my buddies.

So it's sort of like incest.

We planned on going to vandalize a church sign (well, rearrange the marquee), but before we even had time to rendezvous Greg got trigger happy and knocked the decimal point off a Ponderosa sign and got warned by the cops so we called it off.

Spring Break: student-cop ratio NOT in our favor.

So Mike and I finished the movie back at his place and slept late.

We canned the concert plan for Saturday and did more of the same (movie, munchies, and bourbon).

Yesterday he dropped me off in time for me to change before walking to Amelia's for dinner since we were all back in town. It was so wonderful to have Heather back after her being in Germany. Ashley's been gone since Thursday to a wedding she was in, and we all just needed some story time.

So Amelia practically fell in love with a recruit and though he's decided to not come to IU, she's flying to New Orleans to see him in a month.

I sipped water while Heather and Amelia became progressively drunker. While Amelia gave me more and more of the third degree about Mike.

It's just a bit of a frustrating mess because she knows him very well, and knows all his baggage, as well as knowing all his qualities. Her fear is that I'm in this because I like to feel needed and I'm getting off on being his helper.

As insightful as this sounds, it's hardly the case. A guilty confession from ANYONE could be, "I love to be needed"... because it's a fairly common circumstance. Also, she sees no reason why I would spend so much time with a person I know is leaving in May. Don't I realize the pain ahead?

She doesn't realize that I'm enjoying his company more and more and I might die next week, so I'm not going to fear potential pain like that.

It serves to be noted: the results of this relationship are potential, not immenent.

So I do see the good I can do for him, but the more we hang out, our connection grows incrementally. The foundation is being built, it is not already built. So her assumption that the whole foundation is my martyrdom is premature.

The foundation right now is our curiosity to discover the foundation.

I began walking home from my drunk-girl-friend's last night, and called Mike.

Half an hour later, just as I got home, he called and volunteered to swing by. We dyed my hair and looked at the National Geographic's 100 best photographs. Maybe an hour and a half, and he left without me kicking him out, telling me he'd see me today.

He simply has no intention of not hanging out with me as much as possible, aparently.

But he only kissed me lightly last night. Three or four times. Greeting, goodbye, and such. He held me and cuddled the whole time, though.

He's known a lot of girls who are interested more in sex than him, and he just wants to be known, and cuddled. That's where we really get along. I know he's not trying to wear down my resolve. I just want to be known, and cuddled.

The upshot, though, in knowing he's not geared towards tagging my ass, is that I'm much less inhibited around him. He makes me feel like the focus of his affection, instead of feeling like his pleasure is the focus. He doesn't dissapear into his desire and let his cock take over. It remains a personal interaction between me and him. He says my name. That is very unusual for me. I'm so much more willing towards him because he so much more attentive than other men.

And he's the sexiest man I've ever been with.

Other news: my sister is moved up to Lexington and is now 3 hours away from me! Carrie Beth isn't coming to visit, but Martene should drive to see me next month. Bill and Diane will also visit next month.

Tomorrow I have an appointment with JM - and if I get to work in his lab I'm set.

It means funding.

It means change of status.

It means research.

It means getting my name on published papers.

Wish me luck for tomorrow.

I preordered the new Modest Mouse, when they told me I'd get free buttons for doing it, and then today they tell me for a few more dollars I could have the new release, a bootleg, a poster and the buttons. Shit. Too much work, though. I'll just stick with my previous order. It seemed really cool, though, before they offered more.

11:36 a.m. ::
prev :: next