Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

Gideon checked out

October 26, 2004
The brain-dead sensation I had last night leaked into the morning. The brain-deaded-ness which requires none processing functions and purely mechanical ones. So I crocheted... and organized my gajillion CD's. For some reason this morning my roommate lolled behind until I was ready to leave and then drove me in to campus. I don't know why she waits for me. It makes sense when it's raining but today it is warm and sunny. It's classic "sweater weather". The way it feels all winter long in the south.

"How is your life?" a colleague asked today.
"Good" I replied with a rising intonation denotative of a continuing response.
"That question is not to be confused with any desire for details," he specified.
"I'm going to MA and then step," I continued without regard.
"What, so you can start having babies?" he asked. It's like the whole world can see the diachronic ordering of my life's events with more clarity than I, at times.
"Not right away. I'll PhD in South Carolina first... in historical linguistics." (note this conversation immediately followed our course of the same title; the course is not a niche-carver for many)
"That can't be a good program; just because one or two people there speak Gullah... doing field work on an island made of sand... They'll be washed away before you ever finish." His discouragement is not to be confused with any concern for me but just his general negativity, and something I have in no way become fond of.
"The ocean, shrimp, and my man are there..." I listed with a tone of blind trust in bare essentials.
"So you're making a decision for a man?" he interupted with a tone of hopes that I was kidding.
"Yes, I am."

So there you go. But before I made the decisions to follow him I had to first make the decision to love him, and to be loved by him. What an easy love it is, too. Effortless.

An effortlessness which makes it strange when he "advised against" me spending over $200 on a pair of boots this winter. So often we shop to the same degree I felt a little shocked he would shake his head at the idea. He does have a concept, though, that one should get "more" when they pay "more". For instance I'd love a convertable Mini Cooper - a vehicle which in price is the same as his Tacoma truck - but it is far less size, weight, material, and storage than the truck and therefore - in his mind - worth less.

Today I have to finish some assignments. I cannot delay any further. Write right now!

1:19 p.m. ::
prev :: next