Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

cold showers

October 26, 2002
The deacon of doom! The minister of mayhem! The pontif of piss-ychobilly! The Reverend Horton Heat! It's chicken soup for the punk-rocker's soul. When the teeny-boppers at the Saves the Day show make you feel like getting prescription pills to make the pain go away, just go to a Rev. Heat show. The crowd was loveable and they danced their asses off. The band was well-dressed and three of the best musicians I've seen work (okay, maybe not: I've seen U2, the Cure, Santana, and Bob Dylan... they're the best).

That club-floor gunk is back on my chucks. I had to look down and smile: beer, sweat, and piss.

My companion wasn't of the rock sort - in any genre - and his turtle neck stood out among the pomps do's, drifter shoes, and full-arm sleeve tattoos. To my delight, though, my old pal got into it. He danced. He fell down, knocked down, dragged out, and broke a sweat. I could do no dancing because I had a bag with me. Shit.

After the show we ran through the rain to one of our favorite bars, The Patio, and had margaritas (the place has a specialty). Then we ran through the rain to a Greek restaurant where I embarrassed him with my singing of Chicago (and Peter Cetera) songs.

Speaking of the Karate Kid, I met a guy last night, too. Jon. He wore a bandana like a head-band.

He kissed me.

That was on my want list: a guy to kiss me because he just can't help it.

He leaned across my cheek and gently, softly, sweetly, quickly, kissed me on the lips. The stranger behind said, "boys will be boys," as I stood, stunned and alone. "That's the way I want them," I replied. The stranger's wife knew what I meant.

Leading up to the kiss: I had spotted him first, during the opener, and I kept my eyes on him, waiting to get his eye. He finally broke from his conversations with the two guys he was with and I gave him a bashful, "tee hee, I finally got you too notice me" smile. He cocked his head and smiled back in a sort of wonder that I had flirted with him. He's tall, dark, and hansome.

In a quick break in between songs he ran to my side and introduced himself to me. His cheek was soft and his demeanor was unintimidating altogether. Like he was embarassed, maybe, but emboldened by alcohol, or the dark, or the loudness, or the guys he was with, or a moment of, "Oh, what the hell."

He didn't smell drunk. Maybe he was on crack. Maybe he's a whore. I told J that he seemed harmless, and he said, "That's what they all say. I betcha that Custer guy thought Geronimo seemed harmless. BOY WAS HE WRONG!!" Good thing I live with twelve year olds, huh?

Then, during a slow song, Jon danced/swayed with me and said that we should hang out and go to shows and for the next show I needed to leave my bag so we could really dance. He's a film student at NYU from Colorado and he suggested we groove silently to the music. Then he said he needed to run back and throw down, and that's when he kissed me.

We exchanged phone numbers and he said, "I'll call you, or you call me, but what will probably end up happening is we call each other at the exact same time."

As I jotted his number in my book and established his name is spelled without an H, I remembered six years ago, getting the phone number of another H-less Jon. Last night I said, "all of us journalism cats carry pens," and six years ago I said, "all waitresses carry pens." Last night he was wearing a blue-and-white striped button-down shirt and -- you guessed it -- six years ago that Jon was too.

You'd think that with only having dated three guys I wouldn't already be having repeat scenarios.

Down south boys don't do this kind of thing. They think about it. They're scared of it. Girls want it, though, and up here it happens. I go out and I get numbers. Most of the guys up till now, though seemed like a predator. I don't want predators, but aggression is okay. I'm not talking about over-powering ass-hole, I just want some alpha-males.

I know men are stonger than I am, and I don't need a man who lets me know he's stronger than I am; I need a man who lets me know he's stronger than other men. In last night's situation Jon won.

I haven't had a moment where I experienced mutual interest with a guy in eons. I often am dissapointed when I express my interest, and I'm often aquiescent to guys when they show me interest,(the freaky little drunken nights when I've ended up in my roommate's boyfriend's roomate's bed with a guy I'd never met before DON'T count) but let me try and think of the last time I gave my phone number to someone I really wanted to have ask for it... I think it was David. Five years ago.

He doesn't have to call or anything. Last night was success.

2:43 p.m. ::
prev :: next