Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

you can hear my music clear as day

October 28, 2003
Last Saturday night Joe and I went to a party, but it was something I was interested in attending and that he had been indifferent about. He knew I intended to go regardless of his accompanying me, but I had sincerely urged him to come along. It never sparked a lot of desire in him, but by Saturday afternoon when he still didn't have a costume concept I was resigned to having an apathetic date who would make me feel in some ways guilty for having my little good time while he pouted for "having to go" and "feeling dumb" with no grand costume.

But I was wrong.

He showed up dressed in his father's old PBR work shirt (that even has his name "JOE" on the breast) and a hat that read "Quality Control". We stopped for a 30 pack of Pabst and he ran around the party the whole night monitoring the quality of people's beers (sipping them) and then offering a PBR (which he kept an extra of tucked in his pocket).

I'm not used to boyfriends not being resentful, and Joe simply is not. By resentful I mean, my good times must be a direct projection from their instigation. If my good times are at the hands of other people then I will be made to suffer for my independent decision.

He didn't pout, and he wasn't resentful, he just wanted to be with me there and so he simply had a good time.

Sweet Joe.

11:48 a.m. ::
prev :: next