Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

The VD Special

February 14, 2003

And now the special holiday edition of Justcircles as I make a hardcopy of what Valentine's day triggers in my mind...

My next door neighbor called to tell me happy Valentine's Day when we were 16 and it freaked me out because we played football together every afternoon. C'mon!

I left a rose on Scott Dunn's car, in highschool, but he wouldn't reciprocate more than a "thankyou" because I was (am?) a "goodgirl."

Eating candy and watching Gleaming the Cube with a couple of girls.

Riding shotgun in the '68 Mustang of The Hairless Stud freshman year.

Getting a pineapple from the boys in England.

Having to drink 1 margarita, 1 shot, and 1 beer to be able to even talk to the "date."

KC Kisinger and "ass floss."

Amrin making me lunch.

Distributing black liccorice.

Simon taking me to Waffle House.

Mama sending a package every year.

Being a kid and hand-making every something lacy and glittery for my whole family.

Loving who I love and who loves me and not lamenting who I don't love or am not loved by.

Okay, so then this year I woke up to a card from my babies. It has Snoopy on it and says, "know somethin? you're somethin." That's all it takes to make it a good day for me. There is not a damn thing in the world more precious than receiving love from a child. I wish you all could see us together. Like this morning, getting in the car and seeing the temprature at 17 degrees, so we pop in Nelly, "it's gettin hot in herre..." We listen and sporadically sing along, like most white people do:

"me and the rest of my heathens,"

"give that man what he askin for,"

"can't no body stop the juice."

And just as I swing in front of the school all three of us on cue shout,

"You know, dance in front the mirror when you're on the phone, checkin' your reflection and tellin' your best friend, 'Girl, I think my butt gettin big!'"

Because that's the best part.

We didn't laugh, we didn't make a big deal, we just listened quietly and then all busted out at the same time, and then they exited.

A note on rejection, though: thank you, University of Massafuckingchusetts at Amherst for refusing my application in not one, not three, but TWO letters of rejection.

"We don't want you."

and

"Seriously; we SO don't want you."

thanks, yo.

Lastly, let's discuss this weather, and how PLAYED OUT it is. Seriously. When it's warm I'm renting a car. I miss driving a car (the Suburban is a goddam tank) and I MISS changing gears. So we'll rent a car - with a sunroof - and not a fucking Ford Focus - and not a mini-suv - but a car - and with 300 cd's and Dr. Pepper, and Twizzlers, and honey roasted peanuts and cigarettes - we'll go to Niagra Falls and to Maine and to wherever the hell else we want to go.

Jeans and a t-shirt and some flip-flops.

Music, sunshine, and 5th gear.

I'm going to cuddle up with Punxsutawney Phil and fuck this cold, man.

8:33 a.m. ::
prev :: next