Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

tall tales and super heroes

July 09, 2004
It's hard for me to not believe in fairies, and the only time in my life when I began to disbelieve was while living in New York.

And it's not like NY kills a belief in magic. It's something about purity, I think.

My sister and I were always somewhat of professional fairy hunters. We always knew where they lived and how to find them.

To the person who does not believe in fairies they would say we were only poking in the holes belonging to frogs and chipmunks and salamanders and snakes and bees.

There's a place along the railroad tracks where I'm quite certain the fairies live, and they're oh-so more tangible at around 7:00pm as the sun begins to set and turns the rails into liquid.

So I gave my big sis a ring last evening and she knew exactly what I spoke of, and she told me artists call 7:00pm "The Golden Hour" because of the lighting being so crystal-clear.

I thought about the fairies for the rest of my walk home, and why it is that I've always spoke of them so truthfully. Muriah says there must be some reason why the myth has carried on through centuries, and that perhaps there is something inside us that needs to believe in them.

For we know, all myths help explain something inexplicable that we need. Tall Tales and Super Heros.

So as I walked further towards home along the tracks I continued my thoughts, and soon I realized that the same thing inside of me that is capable of perceiving of something as beautiful as fairies is also that which makes me capable of perceiving the Ugly things.

Paranoia and Anxiety come from the Ugly things.

But I fear that if a doctor ever cured my paranoia and anxiety - and took away Ugly things - he'd take away my fairies, too.

Then I saw a groundhog looking around underneath a wooden fence. I tell you, I see that critter all the time, and I would LOVE to shrink down and explore his home inside the thicket by the tracks. That ole groundhog is a curmudgeon if I ever saw one and we'd get along GREAT!

Anyway, so I'm taking a picture of this old sumbitch and I swear he chirped at me. Do groundhogs chirp? I need to investigate.

When I got home I spoke to my beloved about these things and we knew each other with the clarity of crystal as we spoke and I think we fell in a little more love.

Karaoke and pool in the evening. The joint was pretty quiet, but I was not, and I stunned the crowd with Sweet Child O' Mine because I didn't feel like branching out.

But then I took it down a notch and did something I've never done for an audience: I sang without music.

The people in the bar just stared at me while I rasped and crowed Janis' Mercedes Benz and I almost worried I was doing something wrong... until I finished and the reaction let me know it was all right. The dj said,

Michaela! More man than I'll ever be and more woman than I'll ever have!

9:26 a.m. ::
prev :: next