Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

Singing Dirges While Burying the Past

April 24, 2003
Of the two musical genres, Ska and Rapcore, which one was cooler?

Or!

Which one's coolness lasted the longest?

I mean, there was a time when Rage Against the Machine hit the spot, but was it a longer time than when a good horn section revved me up?

I can't quite peg it...

All I do know is that neither are cool at all right now!

Tylere told me that a letter I wrote to him was sort of like the Bible: every time he reads it he sees something new he hadn't realized before.

Any one know who this is?

A bunch of twenty-first century digital boys.

In the Stranger Than Fiction liner-notes the extra-special thanks include "Maggie" and "Michaela".

For some reason, no matter how much other punkrock I get into, BR will always be my favorite.

Today, though, for the first time I realized that the words are "sex without fury" and that was news to me.

I thought it was strange, but it always sounded like, "sex without purity."

Last night I wrote a long email to Carrie Beth in our new attempt to tell each other what we eat every day.

Followed by another long email because someone I knew needed some encouragement.

I finished off the evening with an unexpectedly long IM conversation about religion with some stranger I swapped with in Swappingtons.

...all the while watching the Braves and Baseball Tonight.

When I went to bed my brain was in need of a good laugh to unravel all the tight knots of seriousness I'd been tying.

Instead I grabbed a smoke and nestled down.

My dreams were disturbing: of not moving quickly enough to save someone's life ... but still being lauded as a hero.

Saturday I'm going to see "A Mighty Wind". I love Christopher Guest.

Sunday I'm going to see the Bouncing Souls and Alkaline Trio.

To start the weekend off, asitwere said he'd make sure I didn't go to bed sober tomorrow night.

::sigh::

Has anyone reading this ever vandalised a bathroom just for the hell of it? Like, knocking off toilet lids and soap dispensers?

Yeah... who would do that?

8:48 p.m. ::
prev :: next