Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

...I salute you

July 30, 2004
In college all we did was rock 'n' roll. All we cared about. Talked about. Spent money on. Hell, highschool was like that too.

Not so in graduate school.

Tonight I'm seeing Modest Mouse, The Walkmen, and Breaker Breaker. My friends invited me to a pre-party after which we all would saunter up to the club and muse over the rock offerings. No doubt they also inted to loom haughtilly in the back and talk the whole time.

Showing up drunk and full of food and halfway through the first band.

How have things come to this? How is the rock so disrespected?

How is it that suddenly these people I know are so disrespected... by me?

I don't know of one person who is willing to become saturated with the music tonight. No liquor. Just rock. Sweat. Hell: cry.

When I saw The Cure I waited in line for three hours just for the doors to open. I got Robert Smith's autograph. And I stood right the hell up in front of the stage with nothing between me and him. No drinking then. When you're dead center and belly-up to the stage you don't have *time* for a drink.

Not to mention, I want to remember every note of tonight's show.

I miss my friends who lived to rock. Where are they? Maybe I'll meet them in line tonight for door's opening...

I posted this same entry in my other journal. Something I don't do. But I really feel very strongly about this.

12:58 p.m. ::
prev :: next