Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

I did not go on a date

February 04, 2003
From the personal add many respond. I give little in my responses becuase it's easier to weed out people that way, but Jordan got my screen name and brought himself off the page and into a smooth conversation.

The basics were easy to establish: we both love music, live music, talking about music, and buying cd's.

I knew that at the very least I'd met someone who could direct me to shows and wouldn't be a pain in the ass to hang out with.

I keep on trying to write about last night in full detail, but it's so tedious. I had Jordan meet me at Patio so Asit could meet him. Then the two of us walked to Max Fish on Ludlow and I met Jordan's business partner: Eric.

Eric then introduces me to Ari, who I recognized as another guy who had responded to my personal add not too long ago. He was with a chick, so I didn't say anything, and maybe he didn't recognize me, but I thought it was wierd that I'd meet a guy from a personal and his friend would be friends with a guy whose response I ignored. I heard he's got mad cash, though.

Jordan and Eric are starting up their own management business (for bands, duh) and so the music event planned for the night was to involve "industry schmoozing" as he described it.

Secret Machines was the band, and the set ended just as they got good.

The absolute truth, though, is that I miss live music, and I loved seeing a show, and I hope Jordan and I hang out all the time to go to shows. I need live music. Plain and simple.

Jordan is a nice looking guy. Tall, lanky, dark, and has little black-rimmed glasses. His friend Eric is hott.

Not to waste words, but, I felt at home with the two of them. The show was fun. Afterwards Jordan and I returned to Max Fish and just the two of us chilled until about two thirty.

No uptown trains. So I took a cab. Fell asleep on the train. Fell into bed. Dreamed about Tylere. Woke up at seven. Took the kids to school. Slept until noon.

My mother will be here Friday.

I'm so happy to see her!

Jordan asked me to have dinner with him on Thursday.

16th Street and 8th Ave: Maryann's.

Well, it's still not a date. But he likes me; I can tell. He told me I can run off screaming in abject terror if I wanted to. That's nice, becuase I don't want to feel like it is a date now and I have to already be totally into him just because.

And I am not going to enjoy telling my mother that I met a guy on the internet. But I will. And she'll be okay with it. Becuase I'll talk to her about it around Asit, and my mom will not really be able to argue that good friends come from this World Wide Web.

Here's a humorous exchange between myself and the above-mentioned Jordan. Don't be a hater; the folling is the first time I've ever posted a IM conversation. Just deal with it. This too shall pass.

NYkatbird: oh, tomorrow is cool; my boss said "have fun" northtothafuture: Well, I guess we'll have to have fun, then, boss' orders

NYkatbird: we could rebel, and show her that she don't know shit

northtothafuture: true

northtothafuture: we could be completely miserable and sit around poking one another in the eye all night

NYkatbird: stupid old person thinks young people go out for "fun"; she's so dated

northtothafuture: ha, fun is so 1998

NYkatbird: no shit!sophomore year: stopped doing the fun thing

northtothafuture: It's all about subdued anxiety nowadays

NYkatbird: and back-stabbing psychological manipulation

northtothafuture: I'm gonna go have some anxiety

northtothafuture: "how was last night?"

northtothafuture: "you know. . .

northtothafuture: "nervous."

northtothafuture: "cool."

NYkatbird: I'll take two

I'm so happy mama is coming!

eating people
YOU EAT PEOPLE!!!

what's YOUR deepest secret?
brought to you by Quizilla

9:17 p.m. ::
prev :: next