Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

Indulge Me

January 23, 2004
Last night's karaoke didn't wipe me out. In fact, it was pretty low-key. Not many of "our people" showed up, so at 11:00 when the Brad's exit like lemmings there weren't many folks there at all.

I conquered Sweet Child, as is my tradition, and then managed to pull Black Velvet off without too many obvious hitches.

I have a really rough voice; very rock 'n' roll style. So I have to find songs conducive to rough vocals.

The weather has become significantly colder in the last two days, making my walks to and from school almost hazardous because my feet freeze.

Though the dreams were constant last night, I did sleep a little better, and I woke up and 9:20 without an alarm - which is a miracle.

Just enough time to meet with Andy Clark, the director of our cognitive science program, and a philospher from Australia. He taught my rigorous Philosophical Foundations of Cognitive Science course last semester, and was the recipient of my paper on language-influenced thought and the natural inclination to interact as the recipe for consciousness.

We chatted for about an hour, about my interests and my... paper.

He suggested a re-draft it.

Then submit it.

That's heavy, man.

Submissions lead to publications sometimes.

Then he refered to me as a "sparse, long-range" synapse, and opposed to a dense, local brain activity.

Which is a compliment.

Lastly, he refered me to the work of Doug Hofstedter to the extent it would interest me, and I suppose I'll check him out, seeing how he won the Pulitzer and whatnot.

Essentially, I'm feeling happy with my conversation with him...

Time to read.

12:55 p.m. ::
prev :: next