Just Circles
thyfirmnessdrawsmyCIRCLESJUSTandmakesmeendwhereibegun

Indignation at My Best

June 07, 2004
Califone is a great band.

Thrill Jockey is a great label.

Tortoise is playing here next week.

Neko Case is playing tomorrow.

Oh, yeah: and then Modest Mouse.

Seeing Isaac Brock in spitting distance is going to be as thrilling as when I saw Robert Smith that close.

Or Bono.

I will seriously invite that man out for a beer. I know the joints where I can take him. The Office Lounge is first pick. Of course my boyfriend won't mind.

It's not like Isaac Brock is hot.

Like Robert Smith.

Or Bono.

This morning I set a Christian straight on an AOL message board.

My belief is that Christians should not contradict the Bible - specifically the words of Christ - and when they do it severly pisses me off.

Christians are responsible to know what Christ taught. Otherwise: one should not call herself a Christian.

When I say "severly pissed off" I mean full blown fury. I become livid.

Righteously indignant.

The post to which I responded said the 10 Commandments are there for us to judge people with, and that we should only forgive people who are sorry.

I directed her attention to the book of Matthew. The "sermon on the mount" where Christ specifically tells us what the 10 Commandments are all about. It's clear as crystal, and it is diametrically opposed to what she posited. You cannot hold a non-believer to a set of rules that they do not believe in.

Then I suggested she abide by Christ's sentiment, "forgive them, Father, for they know not what they do." A statement directly implying that forgiveness is generous.

The point is so simple: LOVE. Abide by it. Show it. Administer it. Invite it. Be changed by it. And love is universal, regardless of religious orientation.

The only response I've received so far came from a non-Christian woman telling me my words were the wises thing she'd ever heard from a Christian. I'm thankful my words did not offend, and that they shut the mouths of the ignorant.

So, I slept well last night, for once.

For the first time since he left Mike and I spoke at great length - both on the phone and IM - and it served as both a cessation of my building anxiety and a re-growth of my commitment to him.

He left our conversation a bit abruptly, though, after telling me I am so much more than a girlfriend (but before he could explain), because he had to referee between two of his friends who were drunk and brawling.

::sigh::

Worrying never added a day to anyone's life, or an inch to their height. The future is so large...

Speaking of which, I would have never guessed from my interaction with Joe over the last few months that we would ever hang out again, but last Friday was different.

He finally left me a Friendster testimonial - all indecypherable and shit - so I knew he'd be hoping to see me soon, but I had no idea he'd be as friendly as he was.

Friday afternoon as I walked past his house he saw me and we talked for about an hour. I let him know I was very much into my current relationship, and in a way I think he was dissapointed.

Why wouldn't he be, though, right?

So I leave, go to Irish Lion for dinner with linguists, then the Vid to kick Greg's ass at darts. On my way walking home Joe textpages me to tell me about what he's up to and invite me to swing by. So I did, and we ended up talking until 4:00am.

It was really cool because we used to have fun conversations when we first met, but after we decided to stop seeing each other (and the Winter made things complicated) Joe figured complete distance was what we needed. He says that now we've had months of distance and I have a man we can build our friendship into something different.

He's really weird, but very interesting.

I was able to ask him very candid questions about everything I'd given up on ever talking to him about. He'd never been as candid with me in the past as he was Friday night, and I rather enjoyed it.

I hate it when someone I'm friends with dissapears and I have to count my losses. It's nice to know that with a new set of terms Joe and I can enjoy each other's company.

Once again, though, he's really weird.

I must go... this work today is not going anywhere fast.

1:42 p.m. ::
prev :: next